Is the food better Around Tacoma?

Technically, Federal Way IS Around Tacoma. Sitting side by side with that North East part of Tacoma qualifies it as “Around”, right? Good! I had dinner at Verrazano’s the other night and not telling you about it is completely out of the question! My companion said “call Verrazano’s and see if they have room” and I, being dutiful and obedient (HA!!) called and was greeted and reserved and happy in less than 2 minutes….on a Friday!

We drove to the restaurant in the dark and since I’ve never been there before I have no idea really where I went. But it’s high above the coast on Pacific Highway and I bet if you go there when it’s not dark (which would NOT include November-March) you can have dinner with a very nice view. It even says so on their web site.

On to the good part…. the food! It all started with Mushroom Crustini. This was not at all the dish I ordered but my butchery of the menu meant we did not get the Bruschetta Della Casa, which I’d still like to try. In any case, the accidental Mushroom Crustini was divine, delightful, pure bliss. You think I am over the top on this but, no way baby! Mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, balsamic and béchamel on perfect little toasted crustini! I’ve never been so happy to discover I was wrong in my entire life! Well, there was this date once but that is for a different blog.

The entrées, while exactly what we ordered, were just as spectacular! I had Pollo Judea, which I roughly translate to “chicken of the gods”.  Chicken that was tender, moist and covered in this buttery, lemon, artichoke goo that was beyond reason in quality and taste. My date ordered from the specials board and had pork tenderloins coated in béchamel (can you really have too much?) and gorgonzola. People, that sauce was enchanting, the kind of thing you ask to marry you on the spot! Had I been in my own dining room I would have quickly eaten BOTH plates!

Combine all of that heavenly food with a tasty bottle of red and fantastic service and you’ve got a dinner that is worth driving outside of the Around Tacoma we know and so love.

The Linnie Sapphire

One thought on “Is the food better Around Tacoma?

  1. “An apple a day keeps the doctor away.” This old saying could hardly ring more true today, as Americans are finally beginning to realize the critical health benefits of a diet rich in dietary fiber.

    In fact, a diet high in fiber can be convenient and tasty – as easy a bowl of bran cereal topped with berries…or as exotic as, say, conchiglie with artichoke sauce, a simple pasta recipe that contains nearly 20 grams of fiber in one serving. There are no limitations.

    Now, however…recent studies are bringing the benefits of fiber back to the forefront. Realizing the benefits of this essential nutrient, the American FDA has permitted product labels to carry health claims that oatmeal and oat cereals may reduce the risk of heart disease – as part of a diet low in fat and cholesterol. But high fiber isn’t just limited to oats any more. Those looking to begin a healthy diet rich in fiber are encouraged to get their daily dose from a variety of sources. And don’t worry, there are plenty to choose from.

    Great post, do you mind if I re-blog this (with full attribution and linking)? I really want to share it with my readers, they would find it very useful.

    high fiber

Leave a comment