Grocery shopping made cheaper!

Been to a great grocery store in Tacoma lately? We have a few. In general the “great” ones are the specialty stores like Metropolitan Market in the Proctor District and while I do love me some fabulous deli and bakery items you can’t really do any kind of serious, stock the pantry grocery shopping there.

I just did some serious grocery shopping and, long list in hand, I went to the WinCo Foods in South Tacoma. There’s been much debate about WinCo and the company’s entry into our market place. WinCo bills itself as employee owned and is non-Union.  While that fact has its own impact on how people feel about spending money at WinCo I have to say….I spend way LESS money there. The Wall of Values is a great place to be shocked and amazed by their pricing.  I can stand there, mouth open, reading the big signs and looking at the depth of their stock and think, “Well, I wasn’t going to get Spaghetti-Os but at 88 cents a can….who can resist?”

I never really like THE IDEA of going grocery shopping. I do however, LOVE grocery shopping while I’m doing it.  While I’m cruising those aisles and comparing prices and trying to resist the temptation to buy Easy Cheese, I am in my element.  I’ve been in most of the grocery stores around Tacoma and there are more than a few I would never consider stepping in again.  Some are dirty, some have rude or stupid employees and amazingly, some have those skinny aisles that will not, in any fathomable way, fit more than 1 cart (what?). WinCo isn’t one of those grocery stores and I am happy to spend my hard earned money there. And seriously, in real estate right now, it IS hard earned!

At an average savings of $1.00 per item (yes!!), I can easily save over $50 on a typical grocery shopping trip. That’s worth driving an extra few miles and bagging my own groceries, for sure. Sometimes it’s not worth the crowds and the packed aisles, which can be overwhelming.  But if you time it right, you can get in and out without bruised elbows or stepping in spilled coffee creamer (which can get really sticky between your toes, if you are wearing new, neon green flip-flops… just sayin’)

I still pop over to Fred Meyer for last minute kind of grocery shopping but WinCo has definitely added value to our shopping options in Tacoma. Plus, the Easy Cheese is way too affordable to pass up!

The Linnie Sapphire

Leave a Reply

